

5251 Duke St, Suite 400 PO Box 458 Halifax, NS B3J 2P8 tel:(902) 424-7768 fax: (902) 424-4625 <u>nssc.novascotia.ca</u>

May 26, 2016

Commission appoints two new commissioners

Halifax –The Nova Scotia Securities Commission is pleased to announce the appointment of two new commissioners, Shirley Lee and Kenneth Wheelans.

Prior to this appointment, Shirley Lee, QC has over 26 years of previous experience in legal and policy regulation with the commission. Kenneth Wheelans, CLU, Ch.F.C is a financial adviser with over 34 years of experience and is currently managing the Edwards Jones' Yarmouth branch.

"I look forward to future collaborative work with Shirley and Ken", said Paul Radford, Chair and CEO of the commission. "Their combined wealth of knowledge will help us to continue to strive to further improve investor protection and harmonize regulation of Nova Scotia capital markets."

The Commission is comprised of up to eight commissioners who are appointed by Order in Council. Both of the new commissioners have been appointed for a three year term. <u>Full list of current commissioners</u>.

The Nova Scotia Securities Commission is the provincial government agency responsible for regulating the investment industry in the province.

-30-

Media Contact: Tanya Wiltshire Nova Scotia Securities Commission 902-424-8586 E-mail: tanya.wiltshire@novascotia.ca