For Immediate Release **February 4, 2013** 

## Canadian Securities Administrators renew term of Chair, appoint new Vice-Chair

Calgary – At the latest meeting of the members of the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA), held in Vancouver on January 23 and 24, 2013, the term of CSA Chair Bill Rice, President and CEO of the Alberta Securities Commission, was renewed until March 31, 2015. Mr. Rice was first appointed CSA Chair in January 2011.

"I look forward to another two years as CSA Chair and continuing the collaborative work with my colleagues from other jurisdictions as we strive to further improve investor protection and harmonize regulation of Canadian capital markets," said Mr. Rice.

CSA members appointed Sarah Bradley, Chair of the Nova Scotia Securities Commission, to a two-year term as Vice-Chair of the CSA. "We will continue to apply the CSA's strategic principles and pursue our efforts toward the implementation of a more harmonized and streamlined securities regime in Canada," noted Ms. Bradley. The members also renewed the term of Howard I. Wetston, Q.C., Chair of the Ontario Securities Commission, as Chair of the Policy Coordination Committee until March 31, 2015

CSA members would like to thank David Barry, Chair and Chief Executive Officer of the New Brunswick Securities Commission, for his contributions as CSA Vice-Chair during the past two years.

The CSA, the council of securities regulators of Canada's provinces and territories, coordinate and harmonize regulation for the Canadian capital markets. Their mandate is to protect investors from unfair or fraudulent practices through regulation of the securities industry. Part of this protection is educating investors about the risk, responsibilities and rewards of investing.

- 30 -

## For more information:

Mark Dickey Alberta Securities Commission 403-297-4481

Sylvain Théberge Autorité des marchés financiers Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington **Ontario Securities Commission** 416-593-2361

Richard Gilhooley **British Columbia Securities Commission**  514-940-2176

Ainsley Cunningham Manitoba Securities Commission 204-945-4733

Tanya Wiltshire Nova Scotia Securities Commission 902-424-8586

Janice Callbeck
The Office of the Superintendent
Securities, P.E.I.
902-368-6288

Rhonda Horte Office of the Yukon Superintendent of Securities 867-667-5466

Donn MacDougall Northwest Territories Securities Office 867-920-8984 604-899-6713

Wendy Connors-Beckett New Brunswick Securities Commission 506-643-7745

Dean Murrison Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority of Saskatchewan 306-787-5842

Doug Connolly Financial Services Regulation Division of Newfoundland and Labrador 709-729-2594

Louis Arki Nunavut Securities Office 867-975-6587