About the Commission

The Nova Scotia Securities Commission’s (the Commission) mandate is to provide investors with protection from practices and activities that tend to undermine investor confidence in the fairness and efficiency of capital markets and, where it would not be inconsistent with an adequate level of investor protection, to foster the process of capital formation.

The Commission is comprised of up to eight commissioners who are appointed by Order-in-Council and the legal, accounting, and administrative support staff who carry out the day-to-day business and operations of the Commission under the direction of the Executive Director of Securities who is the chief administrative officer. The overall responsibility for the Commission, including its administrative, enforcement, policy and law making and adjudicative functions, rests with the Chair of the Commission who is its chief executive officer.

Chair - Paul Radford, QC

Current commissioners:

Heidi Walsh Sampson

Michael Deturbide, QC

Natalie MacDonald

Valerie Seager

Anne Day